Ebbets Field Scoreboard

Ebbets Field was a Major League Baseball park located in the Flatbush section of Brooklyn, NY. It was the home of the Brooklyn Dodgers from 1913 to 1957 when the team moved to Los Angeles, CA. Below are a number of photos of the Schaefer scoreboard located in right field. During a game, the ‘h’ lit for a hit and the ‘e’ lit for an error. The rounded photo shows Rudie Schaefer, Jr. in the outfield with some of the players.


Categories: Baseball | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Ebbets Field Scoreboard

  1. Ali Watt

    Hi, I just came across this site and interestingly enough my dad, Robert T. Murray, worked for Schaefer in the 40s, 50s, 60s and early 70s. He was VP of Sales and Marketing in his last position with the company. He started with them out of the army after WWII in the mail room. My mom was a secretary and got him the job. He worked for Schaefer until his sudden death at the age of 51 in the early 70s. I was 11 at the time but boy I remember….he was true to his brand. I remember as a little kid going to Brooklyn with him and then going on road trips to Allentown, PA when the new, state of the art brewery was built. I smile when I see Schaefer in the stores here on Long Island, however, the shelf space is extremely small to what I remember. I recall going into stores with my dad and he telling us (his kids — 8 of them) to pull the Schaefer to the front making the shelf space large. In the fridge at home the labels had to face front. It was marketing training at a very young age. Made me smile when I saw this site. Thanks!

  2. Ginny Koslow DIMola

    Dear Ali…I just tried to post to reply to your response, but it erased…so I will try again..My name is Ginny Koslow…your Dad and my dad , Gus Koslow, started out at Schaefer at the same time…I remember your family with extremely fond memories..in the early 50’s our families lived in Levittown …and we spent many summer days together …my brother and I lovingly called your dad Mr. Bob and your mom (Helen) was always….Mrs. Murray …I remember your large family…I can’t recall all the names of your siblings…bobby, jimmy, billy…and weren’t you the only girl…somehow that sticks with me…I remember thinking your parents were so sweet….your musings about Schaefer are similar to mine as a little girl …I would enjoy hearing from you …and hearing about your family so many years later…Ginny Koslow -DiMola Ginnykoslow@verizon.net

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

